Department of Philosophy

The Yale Philosophy Department offers a wide range of courses in various traditions of philosophy, with strengths and a well-established reputation in the history of philosophy, ethics, metaphysics, epistemology, philosophy of art as well as other central topics. We also have affiliated faculty members in the Law School, the Classics Department, the Linguistics Department, the Political Science Department, and the Divinity School, and have close connections with the Cognitive Science Program. Our graduate program welcomes students from various backgrounds, and our placement record is excellent.

The Department is committed to providing a safe, respectful, and supportive environment for all of its students, faculty, and staff.  In addition to being necessary for health and welfare, nothing is more important to the quality of philosophical community we share and value.  The Department takes concerns about sexual misconduct and other forms of discrimination very seriously, and the University maintains a number of resources to address questions concerning them:

            Sexual Misconduct Response at Yale
            Office of the Provost-Title IX
            Office for Equal Opportunity Programs


February 1, 2016
On Saturday, February 20, 2016 NYU will have a one day conference titled “Experimental Philosophy through History.” The event is organized by Yale Professor Joshua Knobe,Yale...
January 12, 2016
The Yale Philosophy Department and the Whitney Humanities Center are pleased to host the Ideology Conference on Friday and Saturday, January 29th and 30th, 2016.  The...
November 19, 2015
The Yale Department of Philosophy will host a conference to honor the life and work of Dr. Joyce Mitchell Cook on December 4-5, 2015.  The conference will be held on the Yale...